Love Is All You Need

Often while writing, I prefer silence. Otherwise, I’m too busy singing every heart-strung, perfectly rhythmic lyric into my pen, and then I somehow manage to start performing in my bedroom like I’m on my own stage. (Not entirely sure how this happens each time… modern mystery.) Even while blogging, the music tends to stay off, or else I’d be sitting at my desk for upwards of 4 hours just to write a single post because of too many distractions.

But when writing love letters, there’s a different story. There’s always some song, album, radio station on, keeping a smile on my face over a great tune and the idea that someone will find this next letter and it’ll put a smile on their face.

More Love Letters did a special in-store writing event this weekend (a post for a later time), and the music pouring over the speakers got me thinking. I typically have some type of background music pulsing when scripting the love letters that I write, so in honor of Valentine’s Day, here’s a little playlist dedicated to the More Love Letters writers (and the sentimental side of us all):

8. I’ll Be There – Jackson 5

Almost a motto for us love letter writers: “I’ll be there to comfort you, Build my world of dreams around you, I’m so glad that I found you.”

7. You’ve Got A Friend In Me – Randy Newman

Because, honestly, who doesn’t love Sheriff Woody and Buzz Lightyear? These adorable toys reassured us that we’ve always got a friend in them. “When the road looks rough ahead and you’re miles and miles from your nice warm bed, you just remember what your old pal said…you’ve got a friend in me.”

6. Lean On Me – Bill Withers

Let’s be honest: we all need someone to lean on every once in a while. “We all have sorrow, but if we are wise, we know that there’s always tomorrow.”

5. Who Says – Selena Gomez & The Scene

An adorable anthem to remind anyone that they’re “a diamond in the rough” with “every right to a beautiful life.”

4. We Found Love – Rihanna

We strive to help the recipients of our love letters “find love in a hopeless place” and at the perfect moment.

3. All You Need Is Love – The Beatles

The typical, and all-time classic, anthem of the power of love. Simple and straight to the point, this song sums it up in five simple words. I feel like this one-liner is one we should all remember to repeat to ourselves in those extreme moments when we need a reminder of it most.

2. Signed, Sealed, Delivered (I’m Yours) – Stevie Wonder

Doesn’t the title say it all?! Signed with fancy penmanship, sealed with care, and delivered to those that need some hope and encouragement the most, Stevie Wonder represents our love letter mission perfectly. I’m personally going to think of this as our new theme song.

1. You’ll Be In My Heart – Phil Collins

Okay, so this is my favorite sentimental song of all time because you can address it to just about anybody (and because Phil Collins’ voice is pure magic). You can tell by now that Disney movies rank high on my list of things I love, but this song’s lyrics say it all:

“‘Cause you’ll be in my heart
Yes, you’ll be in my heart
From this day on
Now and forever more”

For every love letter I write, I keep the love that I’ve poured our for that person with me. As love letter writers, we’re thinking of the person who picks up our letter and needs it most and hope that they understand that they’re on our minds, that someone they don’t even know appreciates them.

Happy Valentine’s Day. XO

Have a song suggestion for this list? Pass it along in a comment!
5 thoughts on “Love Is All You Need

Leave a Reply

