Making Time For Things That Matter

Image via Hannah Brencher

As if that friend of mine Hannah Brencher couldn’t get any more inspiring… welp, she did.

One day, she instagrammed a picture of her to-do list, a gorgeous little document laid out on the computer and wrapped up in pretty fonts and catchy phrases. Forget the post-it notes– this girl was three steps ahead. And then she wrote this blog post, about how social media sometimes grows to control our lives, and all we’re worried about is the next retweet or like on our latest thoughts.

And while I greatly admire her social media fast, I don’t think I’m strong enough to handle losing the connectivity that the internet brings me (at least, not yet). But, after having those thoughtfully scripted words hit my inbox, I knew I had to change my day-to-day in some little ways.

My new resolution is to fit things in for myself daily. To wake up and spend an hour with my nose stuck in my Bible. To spend at least 30-minutes reading for pleasure before hitting the sheets. To only check and respond to emails for a designated number of minutes per day–to stop refreshing Gmail every fifteen minutes to see if a new message from a junk source has popped up. To dedicate more time to writing, and to fill one of the unloved notebooks lying around my bedroom by the new year. To have at least one event on my social calendar for each week, because friendships that are living and breathing need to be nurtured, too. And, of course, to chase my dreams. Each. And. Every. Day.

It’s amazing what someone else’s words can cause you to do, isn’t it? And I love her a little more every second for it.

If you were to choose one thing to do for yourself today, what would it be?

6 thoughts on “Making Time For Things That Matter

  1. Hannah really does inspire, doesn’t she? :)

    I’ve decided its time i stepped away from the computer for some time so i can concentrate more on school and my writing.

    1. I blessed to know and work with Hannah every single day. She is incredible.

      Stepping away from the computer more seems to be the general consensus! Love that you’re taking that little step, I think we all need more of that in our lives :)

Leave a Reply

