A Detour On My Dreams

Sara Brink quote
Image via soworthloving.com

A year and a half ago, I sat on a grassy football field surrounded by my fellow classmates. With graduation caps perched on our heads, we listened to the overflowing advice of the keynote speaker, who was rattling off prepared prose about the accomplishments and dreams that the future would hold. We clapped as each name was called and each student shook the hands of the university officials, and we eventually threw our caps into the air with a cheer at the possibility of what tomorrow held for all of us.

When I graduated from college, I imagined that I was headed into a life of a 9 to 5 job, with my own desk to decorate and paycheck to cash. I pictured all the experiences that would come with that: moving into an apartment, going to happy hours with friends, saving a little bit of money, and making even bigger plans. My mind raced over all the things I was going to do in the “adult world.”

Continue reading…

Leave a Reply

