Turning 24

birthday cake

This weekend, I’ll be celebrating my twenty-fourth birthday.

When I was a teenager, I had plenty of ideas of what life would be like at this age. I had an entire plan laid out for myself which included graduations and careers and marriage and children and white picket fences.

Suffice to say, I don’t have all of that. And now that I’m here, on the cusp of turning twenty-four, I can confidently say that I’m glad my plans haven’t worked out as I originally imagined.

I have a pristine framed degree on my wall, but other than that, those dreams didn’t come true yet. I’m still searching for a full-time job. I am nowhere near walking down the aisle. I’m totally not ready to have a baby. And I don’t even know the first thing about putting up a fence.

But since my days of high school dreaming, I have learned a few things about being in your twenties:

  • You don’t have to have it all figured out. You can make all the plans you want, but they’re going to change. Life isn’t perfect; it’ll throw you a curveball or two and you’ll have to reevaluate everything you thought you knew.
  • Nothing is set in stone. You have the freedom to change your mind when it comes to figuring out what path you want to take.
  • An open mind is an asset. You’re in the thick of thousands of possibilities. Don’t rule anything out. Don’t keep your head down and end up missing something.
  • Success is in store for you. It might not come knocking on your door tomorrow, but it’s always just around the corner. Meet it halfway; show up and do hard work.
  • Happiness is all around you. Those things you’re wishing for? They might make you happy someday. But what you’ve got in the here and now is beautiful, too. Appreciate everything.

I know twenty-four will bring only more happiness. I hope it has plenty of successes and failures, luck and hard work, lessons and surprises.

I could make plans for the year ahead, but they’ll change before I’m even done writing this post. Whatever’s in store is the plan for me.

3 thoughts on “Turning 24

Leave a Reply

